Flintlock: The Siege of Dawn is good looking AA game with a unique hook and setting, but it is also, for me at least, a very frustrating experience. Not only does it feel like they are chasing a trend with it’s souls-lite mechanics and difficulty, but they also add the new layer of making you lose progress just by taking a hit from the enemy, let alone what happens when you die.

It’s been reported that the game saw 500,000 players since its launch on July 18. Looking at Steam Charts, I see an all time peak of 541 players, so I don’t think that is where most of the players are. Which means I have to believe that the vast majority of the game’s player base is coming from Game Pass. And, using the very unscientific approach of looking at Achievement rates, I also see that the most commonly unlocked achievement is “Mistakes Were Made - Die Ten Times.” This leads me to believe that many, many of those 500,000 players dropped off shortly after unlocking this one, myself included.

I just wanted to play a interesting new action game with a unique spin and story. Mistakes were made indeed. 🎮