Groundhog Day starring Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell might very well be a perfect movie. So anyone who tries to emulate it is going to have to a mountain to climb. And while I don’t think Palm Springs quite reaches those same heights, it was a very fun movie.

Pitting multiple characters in the same loop is certainly a fascinating expansion of the genre and creates interesting choices for each of the characters. Andy Samberg largely plays the same character he played in Brooklyn 99 if a bit more nihilistic. But Christin Milioti is great as her deeply flawed character finding purpose (this is second thing I’ve seen with her in it - check out The Resort as well). There are numerous laugh out loud scenes juxtaposed with very poignant character moments to balance everything out.

I was a bit disappointed at how they escaped the loop, but in the end, it’s an enjoyable, romantic comedy with a fun twist.

One note - careful watching this with younger children/teens. I assumed it wouldn’t be that bad for my 13 year old daughter who has not been sheltered from much but a couple adult scenes in the opening third of the movie caught me off guard with how far they went. 😂